background swirl


Artistic Director

Dr. Rachelle McCabe, COPI Artistic DirectorDr. Rachelle McCabe, concert pianist and professor of music at Oregon State University, enjoys an international career as artist-teacher and is well known to audiences throughout the Pacific Northwest where she appears frequently as a solo recitalist and highly respected chamber musician. McCabe has performed extensively in the United States, Canada, Southeast Asia and England. In addition to solo piano recitals in Singapore, Cambridge (UK), Malaysia, Seattle, Atlanta, Detroit, Portland, and Washington, D.C., she has been heard on NPR’s Performance Today, the CBC, and PBS television.

As concerto soloist she has played with many North American orchestras including the Seattle, Pittsburgh, Oregon and Victoria symphonies. She performs duo-piano recitals with her sister Robin McCabe. As artist teacher, Rachelle McCabe has appeared in many festivals including the Victoria International Festival, The Johanessen Summer School of the Arts, The Highlands Festival in North Carolina, Chamber Music Northwest and the Chintimini Chamber Music Festival. She was a faculty member of The Seattle Piano Institute in 2012, and an adjudicator at the annual Hong Kong Festival in 2008 and 2012. She has also held short-term teaching residencies at schools in Singapore and Malaysia.

At Oregon State University, Rachelle McCabe directs the piano program and on the basis of outstanding teaching, McCabe was named a master teacher in the College of Liberal Arts. She holds a doctorate (D.M.A.) from The University of Michigan where she studied with Theodore Lettvin and Gyorgy Sandor, a master’s degree from The Juilliard School where she studied with Ania Dorfmann, and a bachelor’s degree from The University of Washington where she studied with Bela Siki.

Board of Directors

Bonnie Esbensen, President
Judy Freeman, Vice President
Michael Beachley, Secretary
David Bledsoe, Treasurer

Mickey Bernhardt
Natalie Bowman
Matt Goodrich
James Krueger
Mara McManus
Rochelle Murphy
David Nembhard
Nikolas Stevenson-Molnar